It’s Illegal to Text and Drive in Texas – What Does That Mean for You?
Since September 1, 2017, it has been a violation of state law in Texas to send or read text messages while you are driving. Texas legislators took the action in response to statistics that show that distracted driving—texting while driving, in particular—is a primary cause of traffic accidents both in Texas and nationwide.
But the ban includes more than just sending and receiving text messages. The goal is to encourage drivers to keep their eyes on the road, hands on the wheel and attention focused on the task at hand—driving. With that goal in mind, here are some of the activities that are still allowed:
- You can use your phone at any time, as long as you are doing it hands-free.
- You can have a Bluetooth device or use Bluetooth or auxiliary cable through the vehicle sound system.
- You can also play music through your phone, use it as a GPS device, report a crime or call for emergency assistance.
Other activities, however, are banned by the new state law. Specifically, the new law prohibits any written communications while you are driving. That includes:
- Text messages,
- E-mail messages,
- Internet searches, and
- Posts to social media sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and WhatsApp.
Under the new law, first offenders face a misdemeanor charge and may have to pay a fine of up to $99. Repeat offenders can be assessed a fine of up to $200. Charges also depend on the consequences of distracted driving. Drivers who cause serious injury or death while driving and texting can be penalized up to $4,000 and spend up to a year in jail.
Injured in a Car Accident? Let Peralta Chiropractic Help You Deal with the Pain
At Peralta Chiropractic, with offices in Dallas, we use chiropractic care and treatment to improve the health and well-being of patients across the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, including people hurt in motor vehicle accidents. Call us at 214-942-3700 or at 817-923-1254 to set up an appointment.